England, UK

De Montfort University

Key Information

Rank 801 Location England, UK Established 1870 International Students 2700
Famous Courses BSc, BSc (Hons), Foundation Degree, MA(Hons), MSc, MA, MSc(Hons) International Fees £14,250

De Montfort University UK

De Montfort University, stylized as DMU, is a publicly-owned university in Leicester, England. It was established in 1870. It was founded as a degree-granting organization in 1992 in line with the Further and Higher Education Act, and was renamed as De Montfort University in the year 1992. The name of the DMU came into existence from Simon de Montfort, a 13th century Earl of Leicester who is credited with founding the first parliament in 1265.

The University responded to changing times by introducing new disciplines such as engineering, construction, and machine drawing.

The university grounds encompass a number of complexes, including the Kimberlin Library, the Queen's Building, which includes the Faculty of Technology, the Campus Centre Building, and the Hawthorn Building, which houses the DMU Heritage Centre and the Faculty of Health and Life Sciences. Other buildings include Trinity House, which houses the Vice Chancellor's office, the Great Hall of Leicester Castle, which accommodates the business school, the Chantry Building, and Gateway House.

The campus also boasts the Hugh Aston Building, which contains the business and law faculties, the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Centre, The Venue, which has a skating rink and a movie theatre, and the Vijay Patel Building, which holds the arts, design, and humanities divisions.

This Educational establishment comprises departments that specialize in several fields, such as the Faculty of Art, Design, and Humanities, the Faculty of Business and Law, the Faculty of Health and Life Sciences, and the Faculty of Computing, Engineering, and Media. It delivers over 100 undergraduate courses as well as over 70 Master's majors in business, law, art, design, humanities, media, engineering, energy, computing, sciences, and social sciences. Every year, over 2700 foreign students from over 130 countries opt to study at the institution.

De Montfort University furthermore has globally acclaimed research institutes such as the Centre for Reproduction Research, the Cyber Technology Institute, the Centre for Computing and Social Responsibility, and the Centre for Urban Research and Austerity, the Cinema and Television History Research Institute. The Institute for Applied Economics and Social Value, the Institute for Psychological Sciences, the Institute for Evidence-based Law Reform, the Institute of Allied Health Sciences Research, the Institute for Research in Criminology, Community, Education, and Social Justice, and the Institute of Architecture are among the other facilities.

This university has prominent alumni in a variety of fields, including famous Omani entrepreneur Qais Al Khonji in business, novelist Louis de Bernières in academics, Miss England 2008 and model Laura Coleman in fashion, and many more in fields such as health, medicine, media, law and order, sports, politics, and government.

De Montfort University comprises roughly 27,000 full-time and part-time students, 3,240 employees, and a yearly income of over £168 million. The institution is separated into four faculties: Health and Life Sciences (H&LS), Business and Law (BAL), Art, Design, and Humanities (ADH), and Computing, Engineering, and Media (CEM). It is a Sustainable Development Hub that focuses on Peace, Justice, and Strong Institutions. It is a United Nations project that was established in 2018. In the 2017 Teaching Excellence Framework, the Department of Education earned the university a Gold grade. It is one of the representatives of the Association of Commonwealth Universities.

De Montfort University Ranking

The University was awarded the 94th rank in the United Kingdom by the Guardian in 2018, the 70th by The Complete University Guide in 2019, and the 67th by The Times/Sunday Times higher education rating in 2019.

De Montfort University Fees

International Fees -  £14,250

+ Show More


Under graduate

  • Animation BA (Hons)
  • Advertising and Marketing Communications BA (Hons)
  • Accounting BSc (Hons)
  • Advertising and Marketing Communications BA (Hons)
  • Accounting and Finance BA (Hons)
  • Accounting and Economics BA (Hons)

Post graduate

  • Air Transport Management MSc
  • Aeronautical Engineering MSc
  • Aeronautical Engineering BEng/MEng (Hons)
  • Advertising and Public Relations Management MSc
  • Advanced Clinical Practice MSc
  • Advanced Biomedical Science MSc/PG Dip/PG Cert

View All


DMU grants a diverse array of scholarships and bursaries each year. In 2021, these grants for undergraduate full-time UK students, include the DMU Global High Flyers Scholarship that awards a discount of up to £1,000, the DMU Sport Scholarship extends cash awards and bursaries to focussed students who compete at sports. Eight of the Article 26 Scholarship are awarded to students in need of financial assistance.


The De Montfort University offers disciplines demarcated into 6 categories: Undergraduate, Postgraduate, Foundation, Part-time, Distance Learning, as well as Learning without Registration courses.

As per the official academic calendar released by the university website, the Fall Term for undergraduate courses is set to commence on October 4, 2021. For the postgraduate majors, the date is scheduled for October 4, 2021, too. Term 2 for both degrees is to begin on January 10, and January 31, 2022, respectively.

According to the latest data disclosed by Top Universities, the University has approximately 1,221 faculty members in total. On the other hand, the count of international students stands at 9,334.

Get a Quote

Application Enquiry